The UEFA Nations League returns for the second time in September of 2020.

Designed to replace meaningless friendlies, Portugal were crowned champions the first time around in 2019.

The draw for the second Nations League took place in March, and the league games will be played throughout September, October and November of 2020, with each team playing each other twice, both home and away. The finals will take place in 2021, and relegation play off matches will take place in March of 2022.

There are 55 countries that compete, and are split into four leagues, based on the current UEFA National Team Coefficient ranking.

The countries with the highest rankings through 1-16 will be placed in League A. League B then sees 17-32, 33-48 in League C, and League D has the remaining 49-55 to complete the teams.

The leagues are split into four groups (1-4), with each group consisting of four teams, excluding League D, which only has two groups, with the last group having three teams.

League A was drawn as follows:
Group 1 sees runners-up of the First Nations League Netherlands, along with Italy, Poland, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.
Group 2 has England, Belgium, Iceland and Denmark.
Group 3 has current Nations League champions Portugal, current World champions France, Sweden and Croatia.
Group 4 sees Spain, Germany, Switzerland and Ukraine finish off League A.

League B:
Group 1 has Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland and Romania.
Group 2 is Czech Republic, Scotland, Israel and Slovakia.
Group 3 has Russia, Turkey, Hungary, Serbia.
Group 4 sees close neighbours Wales and Republic of Ireland, along with Finland and Bulgaria finishing off League B.

League C:
Group 1 is Azerbaijan, Montenegro, Cyprus and Luxembourg.
Group 2 has Estonia, North Macedonia, Georgia, Armenia.
Group 3 is Greece, Slovenia, Kosovo, Moldova.
Group 4 sees Albania, Kazakhstan, Belarus and Lithuania.

League D:
The last league in the UEFA Nations League, sees Group 1 have Faroe Islands, Latvia, Malta and Andorra.
And to finish off, Group 2 has Liechtenstein, Gibraltar and San Marino.

The four group winners of League A, will qualify for the UEFA Nations League finals in June of 2021, which will feature two semi final games. A third-place game will take place between the two losers of the semi finals, and then the final will determine the champions of the UEFA Nations League.

The winners of Leagues B,C and D will be promoted to a league above, with the teams that finish last in each group being relegated.

Because there are only two Groups in League D, the two teams that are relegated from League C will be determined by home and away tie play-off games to see who goes down to League D in March of 2022.

Match day one should take place on 3rd, 4th and 5th of September, with the second round of matches taking place from 6th, 7th and 8th. It’s unclear at the moment if matches will be rescheduled due to Coronavirus, which has placed a lot of the world into travel restrictions.